COLOR vs. FCP 5 color

Posted by miguma 
COLOR vs. FCP 5 color
April 18, 2007 02:50AM
Hello,

I'm planning on digging into the new COLOR app and would like opinions about the following...

should I learn the FCP5 color correction tools thoroughly(i know them a little), will it HELP or hinder my learning of COLOR?

I'm mainly an editor, but am going to slide in the color correction direction.

thanks, Mike
Re: COLOR vs. FCP 5 color
April 18, 2007 04:38AM
Learning primary and secondary color correction techniques is integral to either FCP 2-3 way color corrector or Color.

Also , not all editors will be good colorists, by default. It is a learned skill. You might have noticed that it's interface is black and that is because it is intended that you use it in a controlled lighting environment. You will also need the proper color correction adaptable monitor to judge that operations by. There has been little said about this yet.

But it is another tool in the tool set to make your video or film productions, better.
April 18, 2007 09:45AM
Thanks John, good advice.

Mike
April 18, 2007 12:43PM
I would personally suggest the DVD I wrote on Color Correction for RippleTraining.com which is advertised along the side of this page. It gives you a good understanding of what to look for, how to work, proper balancing techniques. Its got sections on the basics, more advanced solutions and many other things a starting user needs to know, including how to calibrate monitors, understand how to work with digital scopes and many other things (lots of tips and tricks).

By the way, Color will require a steep lurning curve and a faster computer and graphics card than a lot of us currently own. A quad G5 is minimum or any Intel machine (even including the widescreen iMacs).

Andrew Balis
April 18, 2007 12:50PM
Thanks Andrew,

Do you know, will color RUN on the smaller macs and just be clunky? Would my smaller mac be something to "practice" on?

or will it not even install?