M/s decoder plugin for FCP?

Posted by coultersound 
M/s decoder plugin for FCP?
June 19, 2007 01:09AM
Hi... Can anyone recommend an au plugin for FCP to decode stereo tracks recorded on an M/S mic?
Thanks!
Dave
Re: M/s decoder plugin for FCP?
June 19, 2007 10:49AM
<<<M/S mic>>>

Did you check with the manufacturer? Sum and Difference microphones cannot be used directly in an audio application, so some provision must have been made to convert.

Koz
June 19, 2007 11:50AM
No I haven't, but it would seem to me that if the decoding can be done in a field mixer, it could be done anywhere in the recording chain as well. Is that not the case? I have seen M/S applications for PCs that sound like they do that, but not an au plugin for mac.
June 19, 2007 09:08PM
<<<if the decoding can be done in a field mixer>>>

Can it? Which one?

Koz
July 01, 2007 02:48AM
I'm new to FCP and STP so I cannot be sure if this is possible, but this method will work using a hardware or suitable software mixer:

1) Assign the M channel to one input channel of you mixer and pan to center.
2) Assign the S channel to two channelso of the mixer, pan one to the Left and one to the right - if possible gang the two channels faders together
3) Reverse the phase on one of the S channel inputs
4) Fade up M to normal level and bring up the S channels faders to give you the required stereo spread.

Geoff
July 01, 2007 03:42AM
sounds good.
to do it, you;d need a multiple output set-up,
like with a Black Magic, or Kona card.
(or possibly a FW device - MOTU?)

then in FCP, you'd dedicate certain audio tracks for MS only,
and patch them to the MS channels on your mixer.

nick
July 13, 2007 12:05AM