Can you open this clip in FCS?

Posted by Josh Skinner 
Can you open this clip in FCS?
July 18, 2007 10:20AM
I am having a very hard time with some footage that was ftp'ed to me from a friend in Sweden. I get PAL footage from my Swedish friends all the time and can always work with it just fine in a PAL FCP project. This however is HDV and I can't for the life of me open it with FCS or find a downconversion in Compressor 2 that will let me work with it. I haven't had any luck with Nattress Standards Conversion either.

I am convinced that I am doing something wrong or missing something obvious so hopefully you all can steer me to a FCS sequence setting so I can at least open the clips to begin a PAL HDV to NTSC SD downconversion workflow.

FYI this is my first time with working with HDV.

I can't reach my Swedish friend at the moment to find out exactly what camera he used but I do have this info he sent me the other day from his Premiere project he used to capture the footage in Sweden.

General
Editing mode: HDV 720p
Timebase: 29,97 fps

Video Settings
Frame size: 1280h 720v (1,000)
Frame rate: 29,97 frames/second
Pixel Aspect Ratio: Square Pixels (1.0)
Fields: No Fields (Progressive Scan)

Audio Settings
Sample rate: 48000 samples/second

Capture Format
HDV Capture

Here is a link to the Clip (33MB file)

After your browser loads control click to save it. I have not altered this clip in any way. This is exactly how I received it.
Thanks in advance.
Josh

ps The only way I have been able to open and view this clip is with the VLC media player.
Re: Can you open this clip in FCS?
July 18, 2007 04:48PM
HI Josh.

Your answer is MPEG streamclip: http://www.squared5.com/. It's free! I tried it with your clip and had no problems converting it to ProRes422.

Good luck

Travis
VoiceOver Guy and Entertainment Technology Enthusiast
[www.VOTalent.com]
Re: Can you open this clip in FCS?
July 19, 2007 11:55AM
Thanks Travis I am going to try it right away! Will report back.