Time Code Window Burn start time???

Posted by SoundDude 
Time Code Window Burn start time???
November 01, 2007 04:01PM
Hi!
I'm a novice FCP user (full time audio post editor---ducking the bottles and cans...) who can generate a window burn in FCP 5.1 but:

is there a way to create a burn that has a different start time than O OO OO OO?

ie: The session start is 00:58:00:00 for this project and the counter still runs 00:00:00:00 onward.

Is there a way to change the start time/punch in some kind of offset?

It is a simple edit project---the current vid. editor wasn't aware how to generate a burn so we wanted to do it internally here from a quicktime, so there's only a single video clip/session to worry about.

Thanks for any info!
Re: Time Code Window Burn start time???
November 01, 2007 05:10PM
Use the ingenious Nick Meyers "blank text object" method:

[www.lafcpug.org]

To change the starting timecode, either use Timecode Generator ("Hour Offset" and "Frame Offset"winking smiley instead of Timecode Reader, or use Modify - Timecode on the text object above.

www.derekmok.com
November 01, 2007 06:08PM
the other way is to place the cut sequence into a new timeline.
apply the TC reader filer.

you can CHANGE THE TC of the nested sequence to 58.00.00.

select it,
Apple top-row-Zero to open it's sequence settings,
(or sequence menu > Settings)
go to "Time line Options" tab
change the starting TC.

nick
November 01, 2007 08:40PM
Not sure if this is new in FCP 6 but you can also just use the 'frame offset' slider to start at up to 1:12:00:00.

00:58:00:00 is 87000 frames, in PAL (25fps). It is still quite awkward though. Surely it would be just as easy to allow the user to input a start time.

November 02, 2007 10:39AM
Naw, no good. I tried changing the sequence start time to 09:58:00:00 as is the case here and TCR still shows from 0:00:00:00.

The TCG setting adjusting frame and hour offset works but trial and error to figure out which is your correct count!