non related but essential request for all editors.

Posted by Phil UK 
non related but essential request for all editors.
November 20, 2007 04:33AM
and that request is opinions on how to put together an editors showreel. I'm an FCP editor - I love showreels and will happily cut them for directors, cameramen, DP's, art designers - however, I have never cut one for an editor nor myself for that matter. I'm at odds as to how to go about it. In London at the moment it is cool to have a showreel and I want one but I just seem to draw a blank as to what to do. Do people expect some rapid fire machine guns editing? Motion GFX? (my weak spot) - Can you include a lengthy sequence of a documentary to show you understand narrative? How long should it be? How do you structure it? Are there no rules at all. I do ads, corporates, music vid and doc. Advice warmly welcome and cheers..Phil UK
Re: non related but essential request for all editors.
November 20, 2007 08:31AM
Hey Phil,

Speaking from a Motion GFX POV, rapid fire editing just shows BULK QUANTITY. Cutting away from an effect in the middle doesn't help the people doing the hiring see how designs unfold. When a client views my reel, they step through it frame by frame and want a "shot breakdown" of how each effect was accomplished and how much of it was actually done by me (some projects have multiple designers doing parts of FX as a team). Some Designers put full show opens on their reel even when they only did a small part of the actual work (hence the need for the "shot breakdown"winking smiley.

Mine is a combo of editing & MoGraph because my stuff is short form - telling stories in a very small amount of time (:15 to :60 seconds). I would think that long form docs / shows would need a separate reel.

Although a nice music track is important, I like to watch reels with the sound off. Sexy music / sound FX shouldn't interfere with how the work is perceived and some folks try to cut their reels like a music video.