Editing for TV, how do i do the breaks and timing
March 26, 2008 03:00PM
I have a 2 hour feature that needs to be edited for TV, i have never done this before. the distributor says it needs to be broken up into 7min 30sec to 8min sections for the commercial breaks. Do i need to put anything in these breaks or just fade out and up? how critical is the timing on these breaks? Also the show length in total, How long should it be and how much flexibility is there/ i am at about 77 min right now.

the show has not been sold yet so there is no specific network to format for, they are thinking the Family Channel might pick it up.

Thanks, Mark
Re: Editing for TV, how do i do the breaks and timing
March 26, 2008 04:52PM
Until you know what network this will land on...do nothing.

You need to follow the guidelines for the particular network this happens to land on...and every one does things differentlly. Some want 30 sec between Acts, some only 5 seconds, some 2. Some want VERY SPECIFIC and I mean down to the FRAME as to where the Act breaks end and start. Some want show bumpers (graphics) at the head and tail of each act. Then they each will have their own end credit list format that you need to follow.

Wait until you find out who it is for. OH, and now you will have to color correct the footage to fall within their technical specs, and also most likely have to deliver an audio tape of the mixed stems (DA-88 typically).

There's a lot involved in this.

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]
March 26, 2008 05:02PM
Thanks Shane!

I am just editing it right now are they flexible on the length of the segments between the commercial breaks?

thanks, mark
March 26, 2008 05:36PM