Image sequences for animation

Posted by John Anderson 
Image sequences for animation
April 29, 2008 07:48PM
Hi,
I'm a college studio art teacher who also makes animated films. I recently started working with small groups of students creating all types of experimental animation. We use Mac computers and Final Cut pro. I have always experimented with different sequence settings in FCP and Quicktime.
However , I now would like to give my students a good starting point for exporting their work and creating DVD's.
Currently, I export stop-motion images out iStopmotion using Quicktime. I use the Animation codec and sometimes keyframe every 60 frames or sometimes I use no keyframes. (Again, I experiment and see what works.)
This goes into FCP where I set the timeline sequence settings to none or Animation. I export the final edit using
Quicktime, check off make self-contained and place it in a folder.(Larry Jordan recommends this) This file goes directly into DVD studio pro where it is encoded. Most of the time the results are good but I have read a few things in this forum suggesting image sequences that are placed into After Effects might give cleaner results.
Any tips, suggestions or suggested reading on this matter would greatly appreciated.
Re: Image sequences for animation
April 30, 2008 12:33AM
Personally, image sequences I render in my favorite 3D app (Cinema 4D), which are usually TIFF or TARGA sequences, I bring into After Effects for processing. I despise rendering anything in FCP...AE's render engine is much faster & cleaner IMHO. I just render in the FCP Sequence codec so when I bring it in, I don't have to render.

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

April 30, 2008 07:14AM
I do some teaching too, graphics arts students who also learn the basics of storyboarding and then produce their own films within the semester to gain the experience of the entire workflow from an intial treatment to final presentation in front of a jury.