Markers Moving to the sequence

Posted by Kiwi Kutter 
Markers Moving to the sequence
May 21, 2008 04:04PM
Hi All,

I have just joined your group.

I have been operating Avid for about 10 years - but I am about to move onto FCP for an unspecified time.

Obviously I will have some habits from my Avid experience that will be hard for me to break.

I cut promos for TVNZ and because of the extremely fast turn around - I generally don't sub-clip; instead preferring to quickly cut together a "Selects Roll" like the old time film editors used to. This effectively means less clicking in bins and/or reading sub-clip names etc. (although I do rely on reading text for sound grabs/bites etc - which in the past I have typed in with an Avid "locator"winking smiley

I then often check out this "cut" in the timeline and can easily jump to shots / grabs etc that are all ordered in easy to find places. No need to really go back to the bin - all the shots are there and I can go to the "locator window" and click on whatever sound grabs/bites etc that I want to hear.

Make sense?

My 2 questions (there may be many more in the weeks to come) are...

1) Is there any way to look at this "selects roll" sequence from the source monitor (left side) as a timeline. Or should I just load it into the sequence monitor (right side) and just tab back and forward and cut and paste etc? If it could remain in the left side then it would be one keystroke to cut things in instead of the 4 it would take to shuttle between tabs. (This is taking into account that I would like to be able to see these cuts in the "selects roll"winking smiley

2) I have been told that "Markers" (which I will use for "sound grabs/bites etc"winking smiley do not travel from wherever you placed them to where you cut them in. Or is it maybe that the visual markers will go - but not any text that you have typed in.

Thanks for your time, I hope this all makes sense,

Best,

Murray
Re: Markers Moving to the sequence