Newbie question on best set up for using Studio 2

Posted by LWGray 
Newbie question on best set up for using Studio 2
May 27, 2008 11:31PM
Hi,
I've got a Mac Pro, OS X 10.5.2 2x2.8 Ghz Quad Core Intel, 8GB 800 MHz F8-DIMM machine.

And I'm just starting out using Final Cut Pro.

I've managed to crash and freeze up the machine as I'm testing out the various Soundtrack Pro and Motion features. I wasn't doing any particularly extravagant. I was merely going through the filters on Soundtrack. And I merely tried to do a bit of picture in picture stuff.

Which makes me wonder whether I need to have any extra hardware in there to make it cope with the software.

I didn't think I needed a capture card as my camera is a tapeless machine. But I'm wondering if that's the case.

What do people recommend?
Re: Newbie question on best set up for using Studio 2
May 28, 2008 08:02AM
No your Mac is fine...

What version of Final Cut Studio - Each version FCP, DVDSP, STP?

What version of Quicktime?

Have you run the software update to get all the latest versions?

When you have installed all the updates or new software run Disk Utility and Repair Disk Permissions on the Mac HDD.

Some filters on Soundtrack might not work well together - VST plugins especially older ones might not work well with others - try a bounce down first then apply a second or third one.

Another thing...

What are you using to capture your media to? If you are using the System HDD - DON'T

At the very least go get yourself a (large as you can afford) SATA II HDD like the Hitachi Deskstar, Western Digital or Seagate (not Maxtor) and install it in one of your spare internal HDD bays in the Mac - very easy to do and does not void your warranty.

How to here: [manuals.info.apple.com]

or buy and external FireWire 800 RAID HDD

For instant answers to more than one hundred common FCP questions, check out the LAFCPUG FAQ Wiki here : [www.lafcpug.org]
May 28, 2008 11:30AM