Compressing for the web FAST and BEST quality

Posted by esc2day.com 
Compressing for the web FAST and BEST quality
May 30, 2008 02:22PM
Does anyone know the best way to compress for the web?

For best quality?

For quickest load time?

I have Compressor so if anyone knows the in's and out's I'm new to this software.
OR is there other software that would make this process more enjoyable?
I'm going to be shooting and editing and uploading to the web as many updates as humanly possible from the road on 'Race Across America' a 3,000 mile bike race that make's the 'Tour de France' look like a joke.
So any insight would be HUGE

will be shooting Mini DV ... as this is for the web so the HD is staying home.... maybe next year.. smiling smiley

THANK YOU!!!

Steve Todey
310-200-8056
Re: Compressing for the web FAST and BEST quality
May 30, 2008 02:40PM
For that you will want this

[dvcreatorslabs.com]

Michael Horton
-------------------
May 30, 2008 05:06PM
My two cents worth:

[www.proappstips.com]

I've had the best luck with this guide using Compressor.

You can see my results:

[homepage.mac.com]

However, be ready for looooong compression sessions. One of those set it up at night, and post the next morning things.

Cameron Young
May 30, 2008 05:18PM
In this thread here, I asked a similar question:

[www.lafcpug.org]

I found a 2 step process using Final Cut's "Quicktime Conversion" and then Quicktime Pro yielded the best picture quality to file-size ratio I could find.

DVCreatorlabs got mentioned in that thread, too, and I looked into using it. I opted against it because I was getting solid results for client approvals in 10 minutes or less, so if it ain't broke, why fix it. If I was doing what you were doing & compressing a final deliverable, I might take a much closer look at their product.