Must have Plug Ins for FCP 6.01

Posted by Barry Rosenberg 
Must have Plug Ins for FCP 6.01
June 30, 2008 10:45AM
Hey Guys, I am new to FCP and have been an AVID user forever. I am interested in your opinions and suggestions for loading up my MBP w/4gig Ram- 2.5 ghz core duo. I've read some reviews and now want to hear your "real world" thoughts.

Thank you

Barry
Re: Must have Plug Ins for FCP 6.01
June 30, 2008 02:00PM
MUST HAVE is relative. What type of programs do you edit? What plugins do you WANT to use?

I have a lot of plugins...I mean a LOT. But I find myself replying on the cut and dissolve more than anything. I might throw in a glow dissolve or a blur, but that is rare and is context driven. Filter use is always context driven.

What context are you needing? I have had Sapphire on many Avid systems, but only used them on VH1 shows where they demanded I did. Otherwise I wouldn't use them.

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]
June 30, 2008 02:24PM
Hey Barry...welcome from the Dark Side grinning smiley

Shane's right...what do you do? What are your main techniques? I am an FX guy so I have the entire Red Giant Software collection which kicks a$$ in both After Effects & FCP:

[www.redgiantsoftware.com]

We need more info...

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

June 30, 2008 04:33PM
I made the switch (Avid to FCP) LINK
18 months ago and in a small market (Tampa) it was a God send.
Have not edited on a Mac Avid in all that time (all PC Adrenaline).
I found the $49 Industrial Revolution Volumetrix a big WOW for the price.
DVGarage is a great Green Screen Keyer (inexpensive)
GFilm
GFree
Andy's (free)
Magic Bullet Looks
Magic Bullet Looks Suite
Stibs
Trapcode (3-d Stroke, Shine, StarGlow)
This is all on my home machine

AJA Kona 3 or ioHD is all that

DVCPro HD 720P30N will live in infamy

Apple Color is a Desktop DaVinci