edit to tape - blacking a tape
August 15, 2008 01:07PM
This is my first time trying to do this in FCP - so sorry if it sounds moronic and any advice is appreciated.

I tried to black a tape today by using the button in the Edit to Tape window, but I have been unable to set the start TC to 00:58:00;00 - it just starts at zero.

Does anyone know where I can set this? Am I meant to set it on the deck (it's a borrowed deck and I'm having a hard time figuring out how to do that either.)

Furthermore, I consulted the PDF user manual and there was a one-line note :
warning - timecode is sent by RS-422 and is not supported for DV firewire.

I'm using firewire to connect to the mini-DV deck, so this means I can't record timecode?

SO if I figure out how to black the tape just using the deck and then I do the edit to tape onto a prepped tape, it should still start at the correct timecode, right?

thanks!
Re: edit to tape - blacking a tape
August 15, 2008 01:10PM
Yow, so we never stuck this into the FAQ?

Do a forum search and look up "SimpleVideoOut". I can't tell you about it because I don't use it, but somebody like Nick Meyers would be able to walk you through it.

[www.lafcpug.org]

www.derekmok.com
August 15, 2008 01:14PM
oh thank you. I will give it a shot.
August 15, 2008 01:37PM
I just tried but I don't have the DSR-11 deck, I have the DSR-45A and the menu is not allowing me to make any changes. I can't change the DV in TC to External, for example. ugh.

anyone else?
August 15, 2008 03:45PM
The DSR-45 can generate it's own timecode. You'll need to source the black from FCP still, unless you have a black generator.

Get into the Menu by moving the switch to the right of the display to Menu. Then using the white buttons immediately beneath the switch, first scroll down to "TC Make", and set it to "Preset". The white button offset to the right is the set button.