Producing a DVD for playback in Italy...fairly soon

Posted by CaseyPetersen 
Producing a DVD for playback in Italy...fairly soon
September 25, 2008 10:01AM
I'm under a little time crunch here...I shot a wedding last weekend and the plan was for me to edit it before the bride and groom left to visit her parents in Italy. I basically have a little less than a week to get this done.

I haven't been too educated on doing DVDs for foreign countries because, well, this is my first time.

Questions: Does my HDV 1080i/60 project need to be converted to PAL first? If so, how? Second, do I need to do anything different in DVDSP with the region codes?

Thanks!
Casey
Re: Producing a DVD for playback in Italy...fairly soon
September 25, 2008 10:22AM
>Does my HDV 1080i/60 project need to be converted to PAL first?

Nope. Don't bother, you'll get more of a quality hit converting, and close to all PAL players can handle NTSC.

>Second, do I need to do anything different in DVDSP with the region codes?

Make it all regions. Not really a point for you to restrict to a certain region code, is there?

www.strypesinpost.com
September 25, 2008 10:32AM
So if I make a DVD the same way I always do, I should be fine, right?

Thanks!
Casey
September 25, 2008 10:47AM
Just to be devil's advocate, I think you'd want to consider having a PAL DVD stand by, or a QuickTime movie. You'd get a thunderously pissed off pair of clients if they flew all the way to Italy and their parents' dog-eared old DVD player didn't play NTSC. Unlikely scenario, maybe, but given the personal nature of this project, it seems to me it would be appreciated for you to take that extra step.

Do the NTSC DVD, prep an online-friendly version (in case they need to see it online because of whatever technical snafu), then if you have time, I'd recommend prepping a PAL DVD.

www.derekmok.com
September 25, 2008 10:51AM