DVCPro 23.98 layoff to HDCAM

Posted by promoedit 
DVCPro 23.98 layoff to HDCAM
October 25, 2008 07:41PM
I'm new to FCP and just cut my first projects. Two of the spots are DVCPro 23.98 and two are DVCPro 59.94. The director would like to take them out of house for color correction. The post facility would have to rent a DVC Pro deck and since this job is a favor they were wondering if I could provide them a HDCam with the shots on it. I realize that mixing frame rates on the same tape can create issues to say the least not even sure if that's possible.

Is there any problem laying laying off DVCPro ftg to HDCam?
I have a Sony HD-1800 to layoff to but I'm having trouble with the Kona 3 seeing the deck.
If they could take just the files on a drive that would be ideal but they don't want to get other dept.'s involved.

Help!

Thanks in advance for any feedback.
Re: DVCPro 23.98 layoff to HDCAM
October 25, 2008 07:51PM
Is there a reason you can't give them a movie file? Or an image sequence?

www.derekmok.com
October 25, 2008 08:18PM
Yes, because this job is a favor the colorist doesn't want to get other dept.'s involved. It would make it so much easier if he could take the file.....one is 1.5 gb the other is 4gb. I just deconstructed the sequence with handles and removed any filters or grfx.

Do you know of issues with laying off DVCPro ftg to HDCAM?
October 26, 2008 07:05AM
What's FTG? Hmm... I don't think mixing frame rates on the same tape is possible.. Unless you force a TC break on the tape... But I wont' advice it. Use 2 tapes instead.

How is the deck connected? What are your settings in the Kona control panel?

www.strypesinpost.com
October 26, 2008 07:51AM
There is no problem going to HDCAM from DVCproHD if you have a Kona 3 - just make sure your output settings are via SDI with RS422 deck control and not via FireWire.

WARNING