Blackmagic Intensity Pro card info help needed...

Posted by Russ Blaise 
Blackmagic Intensity Pro card info help needed...
January 08, 2009 11:49AM
[First... Please note I'm new at all this stuff so I might of ask the question wrong]

I've been going back and forth with the sale representative about the Blackmagic Intensity Pro card. I asked:

"I am interested in the "Intensity Pro" card and really only have one or two questions. Can I install that card in my Mac Pro and run a HDMI cable to, lets say a Sony 1080P HDTV and get real time preview using Final Cut Pro 6? If so do I need any other hardware and is there any limitations?"

Blackmagic replied back:

"As long as the video signal you are trying to input into FCP from our card
is in a format that we support then yes you should be fine. Our Intensity Line supports the following HD formats: 1080i50, 1080i59.94, 720p50, & 720p59.94."

I then emailed Blackmagic back and asked:

"If I'm shooting in 1080P 30 using a Sony XDCAM EX1. Are you saying
that won't work will that card? This would be for previewing while
editing in FCP."

Blackmagic came back with:

"That is correct, you will not be able to I/O formats that are not supported
by our card. At this time we do not have any products support a 1080p30
format."

What puzzles me is why build a product to work with FCP, a professional software that has so much limitations. I wish then they would leave out the word "PRO" in that product!

So did I ask the question correctly and did Blackmagic understand what I was asking and is Blackmagic correct ?

Any input would be great, thanks :-)
Re: Blackmagic Intensity Pro card info help needed...
January 08, 2009 12:04PM