HDV Reformatting Help (from previous post)

Posted by jmlpost 
HDV Reformatting Help (from previous post)
April 15, 2009 01:10PM
Hello friends!! So I started a few days ago with needing help with re-formatting HDV captured footage to Pro-Res 422 (HQ) for use in Color, and got some wonderful help - but discovered something new that i wanted to see if you guys recognized:

I'm relatively new to HDV, but I was cutting in HDV with the intention of finishing the cut and then outputting to Pro-Res for color grading, but i noticed that when I output a QT, it looked TERRIBLE when i tried to play it - like it was interlaced broadcast rez footage - but now i'm wondering if the data stream might just be to heavy for my dual 1.8ghz Powermac... LAFCPUG suggested that instead of outputting QT's that I change the sequence settings and re-render, but i got the same result - it looked terrible when i played it - BUT after I tried changing the settings of a newly duplicated sequence to the sequence preset for Pro-Res 422 (HQ) - but i've now noticed a detail!

when the image is playing, it looks blurry, compressed, and interlaced (there's a guy with a shirt that has diag and horiz pinstripes, black stripes on white like a grid so it's perfect for analysis - and the lines swim around and moray like interlaced footage on a progressive monitor) - BUT - when i STOP playing, the image instantly sharpens to look perfect. I've rendered everything so it's all the happy light-blue color - but is FCP downconverting the footage to a data rate that my 4 year old machine can handle and THAT's why it looks crappy?? But the render is actually fine and would play normally on a faster machine? I'm running it on a FW800 drive.

any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks guys!
Re: HDV Reformatting Help (from previous post)
April 15, 2009 01:23PM