Editing DNxHD in FCP

Posted by adelena 
Editing DNxHD in FCP
June 06, 2009 12:02PM
So, I work in a post house that is 99% Avid, but we utilize a couple of FCP stations for different jobs. I am the operator of one of these aforementioned machines. Lately we've been using our FCP Macs to transcode RED footage to DNxHD Quicktimes and ingest them into our Avids to do the finish edit. I had some spare time this morning so I started playing around with these rendered files and I can edit them quite easily in FCP. I was really surprised by this. In the past when I've imported DNx Quicktimes I get a white screen and the clip audio. I wasn't the one who created these clips but they were created with one of our Macs for sure. I laid a couple into a timeline and it came up with DNx compression and played back quite nicely. I can't monitor externally because, well, my Kona3 card just won't do that but they play in the viewer and sequence windows. Anyone using this workflow??

4Core MacPro, 6GB RAM, FCP 6.0.3, Kona3
Re: Editing DNxHD in FCP
June 06, 2009 12:19PM
I'm not at amy machine right now. I do think you can monitor externally off it (I could be wrong though), try switching your timeline to AJA Uncompressed 10 bit output and edit natively. Any filters will definitely require a render, though.

www.strypesinpost.com
June 06, 2009 04:46PM
When you install Avid on a machine you get the DNxHD codec which is compatible with any QuickTime application. That said it's obviously optimized best for Avid.

Noah

Final Cut Studio Training, featuring the HVX200, EX1, EX3, DVX100, DVDSP and Color at [www.callboxlive.com]!
Author, RED: The Ultimate Guide to Using the Revolutionary Camera available now at: [www.amazon.com].
Editors Store- Gifts and Gear for Editors: [www.editorsstore.com]
June 06, 2009 07:47PM
DNx and FCP? I had no idea one could do this?
June 06, 2009 09:32PM
even if you don't install Avid, you can download and install their QT codecs
[avidtechnology.custhelp.com]