OT: Closed captioning online video

Posted by CaseyPetersen 
OT: Closed captioning online video
June 30, 2009 10:58AM
I have an 11 minute project that the client wants put online and also have an option for closed captions.

I've never done this before and don't know how to do this.

Apparently, YouTube offers the ability to do captions on their videos, but alas, at 11 minutes, I'm out of luck. Apparently, this can be done in Flash professional, but my knowledge of that is a little better than my 4 year old's, but not much. I don't think this company has a place to host the video, either.

We're working with a professional captioning company to actually do the captions.

Anyone with any experience or advice for me would be super!

Thanks,
Casey Petersen
Re: OT: Closed captioning online video
June 30, 2009 01:32PM
This might help:

[www.apple.com]

-Noah

Final Cut Studio Training, featuring the HVX200, EX1, EX3, DVX100, DVDSP and Color at [www.callboxlive.com]!
Author, RED: The Ultimate Guide to Using the Revolutionary Camera available now at: [www.amazon.com].
Editors Store- Gifts and Gear for Editors: [www.editorsstore.com]
July 01, 2009 02:16AM
First there is no way to do Closed Captions for any online movie what you can do is Open Captions or subtitles
For YouTube you need an SRT file, it looks like that:
00:00:24,720 --> 00:00:26,720
Have a seat douchebag.

00:00:43,960 --> 00:00:45,960
So what's happening here weirdo?

00:00:48,280 --> 00:00:50,280
You want some wine?

00:00:53,800 --> 00:00:55,800
You have Cocacola light?

Like the QTText example Noah linked to SRT uses 1000 as time base.