24PN for Broadcast

Posted by TVTerry 
24PN for Broadcast
April 12, 2010 10:36AM
Hello! I have a client who wants me to shoot in 720p 24p (which I have had no experience with) for final delivery for broadcast...so I have a few questions for the pros.

First, would it be better to shoot in 24PN (AVC Intra) to save space on the P2 cards (shooting on HPX 300)? Or should I stick with standard 24p?

Second, when logging and transferring do I need to do anything with the "Remove Advanced Pulldown and Duplicate Frames" checkbox in FCP 7? In my understanding, those frames aren't there in 24PN, correct? The box is checked by default. I see there is an option under preferences to use the P2 AVC Intra Native format. I'm guessing I'd use that, right?

Third, when editing, will I use the 23.98 timeline with the ProRes codec and add graphics, etc. just as normal?

Fourth, when final delivery comes for broadcast, it's my understanding that FCP adds the pulldown when outputting via firewire. So simply drop the entire sequence into a 29.97 DV NTSC timeline and print to tape on my DVCam deck?

Thanks for your help, this forum is an awesome source for knowledge!
Re: 24PN for Broadcast
April 12, 2010 12:22PM
24pN should be good, as you don't have to bother with removing pulldown.

>it's my understanding that FCP adds the pulldown when outputting via firewire.

You should double check that. I'm not sure what form of pulldown FCP adds, but the JES Deinterlacer can add standard pulldown to a file.

[www.xs4all.nl]

www.strypesinpost.com
April 12, 2010 01:22PM
If it's for broadcast then shoot 24p (with pulldown). Since you need to add it at the end, why not just shoot with it in the first place. It'll eat up more card space but I think you'll be thankful that you don't have to worry about the cadence when you output.

CHL

Chi-Ho Lee
Film & Television Editor
Apple Certified Final Cut Pro Instructor
April 12, 2010 01:38PM