About ProRes Encoder,Need Help!

Posted by everpenny 
About ProRes Encoder,Need Help!
October 24, 2010 08:42PM
I am a audio and video developer,Now I want to add ProRes Codec in my project.I found a great deal of information on the internet,but didn't find any useful information.I know the ProRes encoder is integrated in the FCP.but don't know how to use it.Some audio and video converter software include it ,like ClipWrap Converter(you can google it,but i think many people know it).So someone can help me or give me some useful information?I would be greatful!Thanks!
Re: About ProRes Encoder,Need Help!
October 24, 2010 10:37PM
I'm not a software engineer by any leap of the imagination, but softwares generally go through QuickTime for proprietary qt codecs. To bypass QuickTime, you need to license the prores encoder from Apple.

www.strypesinpost.com
October 25, 2010 12:44AM
Hi,strypes
Now many codec are opensource,I did not know if there are other ways to achieve this function.but thanks anyway.
October 25, 2010 10:33AM
To compress a movie using the ProRes codec, you can use [QTMovie writeToFile:withAttributes:error], specifying the new codec information in the attributes dictionary. There is a lot of documentation on this.

But your user will need to have Final Cut Studio installed. There is no legal way to do this without FCS unless you approach Apple about licensing the ProRes encoder.

P.S. Please don't cross-post.

My software:
Pro Maintenance Tools - Tools to keep Final Cut Studio, Final Cut Pro X, Avid Media Composer and Adobe Premiere Pro running smoothly and fix problems when they arise
Pro Media Tools - Edit QuickTime chapters and metadata, detect gamma shifts, edit markers, watch renders and more
More tools...
October 25, 2010 02:23PM