Newbie Question! How do I convert my MP4 to MOV in Compressor so I can use it in FCP?

Posted by Anonymous User 
Hi, All,

I've looked over Google to answer this question, but no luck with the specifics I need so far. I'm using Compressor for the first time and need to know how to convert a 59.92 fps MP4 (AAC, H.264, MPEG-SDSM, MPEG-4 ODSM) to MOV so I can take an already cut piece and add music and subtitles to it in Final Cut Pro.

Does anyone know the proper settings and destination choices? Destination seems pretty self-evident: wherever I want it. Nothing else to worry about there apparently (please let me know if there is more of which I'm not aware). However, there is a sea of settings choices. I'm sure it's not too complex, but I'm new to it. I could guess, but that could take hours.

Thanks in advance for your help!

B.
Re: Newbie Question! How do I convert my MP4 to MOV in Compressor so I can use it in FCP?
December 16, 2010 02:26PM
What are your delivery specifications?

It's the first thing you should ask.

There are loads of different CODECs and settings that are appropriate to edit with but in order to give you some guidance you need to tell us what size and framerate you want to end up with and what it its for: web, TV, film, etc.

For instant answers to more than one hundred common FCP questions, check out the LAFCPUG FAQ Wiki here : [www.lafcpug.org]
You are absolutely right! Pardon.

Okay, so I need this for a presentation which will be projected from a DVD. That is the final product. The normal frame rate would be 29.98. I am open to whatever codec you'd recommend as far as MPEG-2. Does that all make sense?

My source is the MP4 described above. How would you recommend I take it into FCP to add final mix and subs (conversion using Compressor to get it into FCP), and then how would you recommend I output it for the highest possible quality dvd?

Also, I didn't relate the resolution for the MP4. It is 1280x720.

Thanks so much for your time!

B.