Can I ONLINE-EDIT in Broadcast Quality with FCP?

Posted by broomsfly 
Can I ONLINE-EDIT in Broadcast Quality with FCP?
January 26, 2011 11:36PM
Hi there,

I am new to FCP. I would like to ask if I can use it to output an online broadcast quality TV commercial onto betacam master ready for airing, considering the set-up I have below:

FCP Ver 7.0.3
MacPro
Mac OS Ver 10.6.5
Processor 2.8 GHz Quad-ore Intel Xeon
Memory 3GB 1066 MHz DDR3
Graphics ATI Radeon HD5770

Sony Betacam SP UVW-1800

The material will be shot in redcam.
I already have installed the redcam codec I found in their website. I also have tested if the FCP can read redcam sample files and it could when I imported the redcam mov into the project bin.

Your help is very much appreciated. Thank you.

broomsfly
Re: Can I ONLINE-EDIT in Broadcast Quality with FCP?
January 26, 2011 11:43PM
Yes you absolutely can Online with your system however you will need a card or some sort of device like and AJA I/O to get the footage from the computer to the UVW 1800
January 26, 2011 11:45PM
FCP is very capable of this. You are missing two vital pieces of equipment, however...a capture card to output the video from the computer to the deck, and a broadcast monitor to properly judge the quality of your image. And you will need a monitor capable of HD and SD, as your material is HD, and your output is SD.

But you also need to really bone up on the RED workflow. Working with the proxy file is not the best workflow...

www.reduser.net has many whitepapers on the workflows that are currently working the best.

And if you haven't onlined for broadcast before, I suggest you either hire someone who has, or learn from them how to do it. It is a full profession in it's own right.

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]
January 27, 2011 03:52AM