How do I take a clip in one of my sequences, and stretch it out to slow down and take up more time?

Posted by Car0lyn4290D 
Hi I'm an art student currently taking my first Stop Motion art class and am using Final cut express for the first time in my life.

Aside from the basics I am practically clueless on pretty much all of the program. My professor has done a good job to mention how to do each thing, however, everytime I go on my own to begin trying things out I can never remember what to do specifically.

I want to take a clip I currently have, and stretch it out so it will run for my entire sequence, but at a slower pace.
How do I do that?

Thank you so much
Carolyn smiling smiley
Re: How do I take a clip in one of my sequences, and stretch it out to slow down and take up more time?
January 30, 2011 02:24PM
Hey Carolyn, please don't make your posts quite so large and colourful...a bit hard to read.

To do a slow-motion on a clip in FCP, press APPLE-J and choose a lower per centage than 100%. You can also target the duration you want and let FCP do the math for you. I don't use Final Cut Express, but I imagine the commands will be similar.

To look up other features yourself, aside from reading the manual, there's a shortcut. Again, don't know if FCE has an equivalent, but in Final Cut Pro, you can press OPTION-H (Tools - Keyboard Layout - Customize), which will show you an interactive keyboard interface that shows you what the shortcuts are. More importantly, the window has a search engine built in so that if you search for "speed", it shows you what the command is.

www.derekmok.com
You can also tap the 'S' key 3 times quickly until you get to the 'Speed Tool' - then grab the end of the clip with the pointer and drag it out to the length you want.

For instant answers to more than one hundred common FCP questions, check out the LAFCPUG FAQ Wiki here : [www.lafcpug.org]