FCP and XDCAM EX

Posted by Mack Truck 
FCP and XDCAM EX
March 16, 2011 12:33PM
I've been using FCP and XDCAM EX for over 3 years now and all I can say is that I have not seen a lot of improvement regarding some bugs.

First of all, when you use the smoothcam plugin, you loose all the rendering files when you reopen the project and render another effect on any other clip. Not very convenient when you have a lot of aerial shots...

But the worst is when you work on big projects. At some point, FCP crashes when it displays thumbnails in a bin. I am currently working on a project with 50 bins and almost 100 hours of footage, and the damn thing crashes like every 20 minutes when I am editing. Knowing it takes about 3-4 minutes to re-open the project, that's at least an hour an a half of wasted time at the end of the day. This is a known bug, and only happens with XDCAM EX. Unfortunately when you log and transfer, and unlike P2, you can not convert to ProRes, which does not bring FCP to its knees.

I have to admit the last release of Final Cut Studio was a big disappointment. No new features, not of the above bugs were corrected, and still no blu-ray support. In the meantime Adobe's engineers have been doing their work with After Effects and Premiere.

I've heard rumors about a new version of FCP for over a year now... With nothing new from Apple. So being sick and tired of waiting, I sent an email last week to Steve himself, asking him if Apple's engineers were doing something besides developing for iPhone and iPad. I asked him about a release date for the a new FCP. He answered me, but did not give any date. All he said was "soon", which he already said about a year ago to some other guys asking him the same question. He also said that the next release would be "awesome".