Exporting Files Needed for Sequence
June 06, 2012 10:13AM
Hi All--

I need some help gathering and exporting files in Final Cut Pro.

I am an old time editor, started on rewinds and flatbeds. I cut in Final Cut now, but am mainly a picture editor. I have been asked to pull certain small sequences from a feature I am cutting to send to a Visual Effects Designer. No problem there. What I am uncertain of how to do it how to find and export to and external drive provided "just" the files (original footage) needed for just those sequences. The producers do not wish to provide hard-drives with "all files" to the visual effect department.

So my question is--

How do I find and transfer to an external hard-drive, just the footage needed for a small collection of scenes?

Of course I have tried to research an answer from operating manuals, but can't find an answer and really am uncertain what to look up.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You.
Re: Exporting Files Needed for Sequence
June 06, 2012 10:26AM
Are you gathering the actual clip files used in editing, or are you just making versions for the FX department -- versions which don't need to reconnect to the original online-edit media? (I'm assuming if you're the one giving them the raw materials used in the FX, then you're working with online-quality media.)

If the former, then you should start a new Sequence, put the necessary edits into it, and then use Media Manager to copy the files to the new location. Make sure you're not wiping out the originals (that's Move, not Copy), and make sure you're not trimming the clips unless you intend to. Media Manager can modify your files permanently and screw up your edit if you don't use it right.

If the latter, then drop the clips into a Sequence and use Export - QuickTime Movie.

Yeah, a manual won't help you here. This is operations detail. You might want to find a good assistant editor.

www.derekmok.com
June 06, 2012 10:31AM
Thank you, Derek.