Who's doing three displays from a 2013 Mac Pro?

Posted by Loren Miller 
Who's doing three displays from a 2013 Mac Pro?
December 09, 2018 12:37PM
Hi, Folks-

So I'm looking at upgrading my 10-year old tower to a 5-year-old mini-tower. Just to stay behind the times.

On the Late 2013 Mac Pro I see 6 Thunderbolt 2 ports (mini-display port-compatible) and 1 HDMI port.

I would like a typical dual-monitor setup on the desk-- either HDMI or DVI, HD resolution fine.

I would like a 27" 4K LG UW650 which is *mostly* color-calibratable, for the HDMI port.

But the literature states if you plug into the HDMI port, one of the T2 ports will cut out.

Has anyone solved this to their satisfaction? Adapters?

Best, as always.
Loren
Re: Who's doing three displays from a 2013 Mac Pro?
December 09, 2018 06:20PM
hi Loren,

sorry I've no experience here...
but could you not get by with 5 thunderbolt ports?
also i'll ad that a little blackmagic mini monitor would get you nice broadcast pics to your LG
(at the expense of a thunderbolt port)
oh, hang on its 4k... well I imagine they've some 4k solution if that's what you need.

cheers,
nick

PS:
"Just to stay behind the times" - ha!
December 09, 2018 10:44PM
Hi, Nick!

Thanks for logging in on this. I assume I can use a couple of those Thunderbolt ports with a miniDisplayPort to DVI or HDMI cable adapter. In fact, I would probably have to use a third for the client monitor. I do have my heart set on a 27" LG or NEC floating over the work screens, although I've looked at things like Atoms and other small scale solutions. If I use the HDMI port- as you say, "Thunderbolt #7"-- the signal to one of the workscreens is cut out.

It seems brain dead. Thus, my call for wisdom here.

Thank you as always. How are you enjoying summer?

Best, as always.
Loren S. Miller
December 12, 2018 08:25AM
Well, I got some wisdom, from Apple's own support docs and a visit to the Store.