Director tips

Posted by Anton 
Anton
Director tips
March 29, 2005 04:18PM
Hi, I am about to work on a series as a director / cameraman, now although I have some experience directing and editing I know I have much to learn.
So that I do not make things any more difficult for the editor than they need to be, I thought I may ask this board for some advice as editors often have an excellent understanding of directing principals .

I am hoping someone may be able to point me to any good resources either in print or on the web or any personal tips or tricks.

Thanks to anyone and everyone who can offer any insight.
Thanks
A
Re: Director tips
March 29, 2005 05:23PM
Hire a GOOD script supervisor and rely on her/him heavily. Then you can concentrate on what you do best, direct/shoot.

mike
March 29, 2005 05:50PM
My personal pet peeve is when the director says cut to early. Specifically, when the camera sharply drops at the "cut" moment, or when the actor suddenly snaps out of character at that instant. Sometimes it's beneficial to have a little 'cushioning' at the end of a scene (and at the start) in case you want to hold on the actors face a little longer etc., or you need extra room for a fade. As I always say, it's better to have something and not need it than to need it and not have it. I like it when the Director waits for a beat or two after the dialogue ends...
March 29, 2005 07:42PM