Importing Photoshop Stills

Posted by Rachel 
Importing Photoshop Stills
May 06, 2005 03:01PM
Need help. I am editing a small project on FCP 4 that uses only still images that cross disolve into each other. I shot the images with a Nikon D1X and resized the final images (I turned them to black and white as well... yes they are still RGB) to 720x480 at 150dpi. I imported them into FCP and layed them out with transitions, but when I enlarge my capture window to show my client a larger version of the project, the images loose their quality. Then when I exported the project to play it on Quicktime in hopes of my client getting a better quality version, the quality was worse. Why am I loosing the sharpness of the images from Photoshop to FCP? I am sure I am missing out some crucial information that might be helpful in someone decifering the problem, but any info at this point will help. I am new at FCP... I used to edit on an AVID.
Thanks
kevin
Re: Importing Photoshop Stills
May 06, 2005 03:23PM
You need to be looking at them on an external NTSC monitor, not your computer monitor. So... your client needs to view them on the same, not the canvas window. Common set-up is firewire out> to dv deck or camera> to monitor.

Good luck!

Kevin
May 06, 2005 03:28PM
Thank you so much for the input, but since I am still new with this... let me clarify for myself. If I export this project to a DVD and play it on a Regular TV or in a projection unit capable of playing from a DVD player, the images will appear as they should? Is there any other setting I need to know about to export it to this format? I will be using DVD Studio Pro for that.
kevin
May 06, 2005 03:45PM
"let me clarify for myself. If I export this project to a DVD and play it on a Regular TV or in a projection unit capable of playing from a DVD player, the images will appear as they should?"