FCP5 Newbie seeking advice.

Posted by Chris 
FCP5 Newbie seeking advice.
May 07, 2005 09:50AM
First let me introduce myself, I am Chris a non-professional, self taught video editor wannabe.

I have just purchased (due to a very generous donation), and I am awaiting delivery of, the FCP 5 Suite (UK based). I mainly do video work on a voluntary basis for my local church and would like some advice on how to get the best from my setup.

I currently have a Dual 2.0Ghz G5, with two 20" ACD's driven by an ATI 9800 Graphics Card. 2 Gb Ram.

Most of the work I am doing is composites of video and still images linked to words and text to supplement or accompany music items delivered by praise groups. I mostly output direct to DVD and therefore operate a digital only workflow. DV for video work and Adobe PS for image work.

I have over the last couple of years purchased various books on using FCP/DVD Studio Pro etc. Like The Visual Quickpro Guides, and The Apple Pro Training Series. These books deal adequately with the mechanics of the editing process, but give little information on the process of 'designing' a complete video/DVD piece.

For example if you are adding still graphics and video material to an existing music soundtrack. How would you go about working on the project? Would you work on the soundtrack first, correcting the pops and noise first? Would you then do all the Video stuff, and then the graphics? How would you plan it? Do you just go with the flow? how do you ensure graphic shifts in time with music changes etc. etc.

I would be very interested in people's comments/info regarding how you 'go about' doing what you do, as well as any comments on my setup with regards to its suitability to what I am doing.

I guess I'm just looking for some inspiration!

Thanks

Chris
Re: FCP5 Newbie seeking advice.
May 07, 2005 11:07AM
"go with the flow?"