capturing dv 24

Posted by Suzy 
capturing dv 24
May 08, 2005 11:14PM
I'm cutting a short film that was shot on dv 24. The material was captured on a system by the producer's office and then given to me. I wasn't told until recently that the material was 24fps, so my sequences are at 30 (29.97). I started stepping through my dailies frame by frame and it seems as though every 5th frame is repeated, which would seem to me to mean that the material was not captured correctly - i.e. 24 fps captured at 30, thus forcing the dupicate frame. (this is my first FCP project; I've been working on Avid for many years, so the liklihood that I'm confused is very high!). How does FCP work during capturing - does dv24 have to be transferred to a 30-frame format adding 3/2 pulldowon, then digitized (sorry, captured) into FCP removing the 3/2 (this is how it works on Avid, unless you're on an Adrenaline), or can FCP capture the 24fps directly? It looks to me like the only options during capture are either for material w/ 3/2 pulldown or material that is running at 30fps, which is why I assumed my material was captured incorrectly
Re: capturing dv 24
May 09, 2005 09:38AM
DV formats

DV25 (miniDV/DVCAM/DVCPro)
DV50 (DVCPro 50)
DV100 (DVCPro HD)

People need to learn what things are called before they start confusing other people.

There are Video Cameras that shoot at 24fps (23.98) and there are different pull down cadences they create as they are recorded to tape at 29.97. Example Panasonic DVX 100a - 24p and 24pa

Just to be VERY CLEAR, 24p and 24pa are recorded to tape AT 29.97 with the pull down added (on DVX 100 series for example).

FCPHD can be set to remove the added frame/fields on capture so you have a 24fps (23.98) material for a timeline at that framerate or Cinema Tools can do this.