Old and Retro

Posted by MG 
MG
Old and Retro
June 20, 2005 08:27AM
I've been working with final cut for several years now. The modern styles of high definition graded film have started to lose their effect on me. The use of blue-green filters are too trite now. Looking back on all those great movies that were created decades ago, we can see the beauty of the old film people were using. Movies like west side story, Rear Window, Laurence of Arabia, and Rosmary's Baby sport a unique style of color and tone. I've been trying to emulate these old color types of tones, yet havn't yet figured out a way to do so. I've used the color grading and correction tools that come standard in final cut as well as many plugins for the same thing, such as magic bullet. None of my attempts have succeded. Does anyone knows of a way or would look for a way to emulate the color of these beautiful movies? It would be much appreciated.

-MG
Re: Old and Retro
June 20, 2005 11:01AM
Do you have any good pictoral reference for exactly the look you're looking for? If so, then I can either tell you how to do it with my Film Effects plugin, or I can write a version that will do it for you.

Graeme

[www.nattress.com] - Plugins for FCP-X
June 20, 2005 11:05AM
I am not too sure that you are really talking about color -saturation-luninance as such with these older classic films, but rather the locations and the film stock used to shoot.

Film emulsions have changed greatly since those films were shoot in the 60's. That is PanaVisions territory. Trying to emulate or more likely recreate those images is really a lost art.

I look at it this way. Music and Films have gone through transitions that are not so good. It took really great musicians and directors and lighting directors and sound engineers and camera persons and all those support positions that bring together a genere of film or music.