Animation software?

Posted by Scott Taylor 
Animation software?
July 25, 2005 06:01PM
I asked this question here a couple of years ago and got some answers that weren't terribly encouraging, but now it's 2 years later and maybe things are better. I don't see a lot of discussion of animation packages on this forum, but there must be some animators lurking out there somewhere.

I want to animate a cartoon character into live action for a training video. I have looked into Animation Master somewhat, but the lack of an OSX version at the time (2 years ago) made it difficult. I looked at some other packages that came highly regarded but left me in utter confusion as to how to use them. The project went on the shelf for a while so I stopped pursuing it, but it is back in front of me now.

I have little experience at animation but I can understand the principles of creating a 3-D character and assigning splines, joints, etc. I am looking for something that is easy to understand, easy to use and not very expensive. How am I doing so far? I know I can't get all those features in one package but I'd like to know how various ones stack up.

So who can enlighten me? Does anyone have anything good to say about Animation Master's 2005 edition? Any other favorites, or even must-avoids? I appreciate all insights and advice.

Scott

Re: Animation software?
July 25, 2005 08:17PM
You looked at Toon Boom?

[www.toonboom.com]

No Tiger support yet but coming soon

Michael Horton
-------------------
July 26, 2005 07:34AM
It looks fiine, though there are some crashes sometimes.
I did some integrating of video and 3d with it and it always worked well.

It works nicely with Synth Eyes so you can integrate camera motion quite easy. And it's cheap - so you don't waste too much money it doesn't work for you.

Andreas
July 26, 2005 10:08AM
Also take a look at Modo by Luxology for 3D object creation. I have Animation Master but could never get my mind wrapped around it.
July 26, 2005 03:38PM