offline files won't reconnect!!!help!!!

Posted by juliag23 
offline files won't reconnect!!!help!!!
August 22, 2005 02:33PM
hi there-

I am an assistant editor working in FCP 5.0.2 on a fully loaded G5. My media is being saved to an external firewire drive. Then at the end of each day i copy those files over to another drive that the editor is using so that we both have the same media at the same time.

For some reason though. When I open up the project on her drive - all of the media is offline (even though i copied it over). Then when i go to reconnect it i get a message that says "the following file attributes are mismatched: media start or rate" what does this mean? is it because of changing the path to the media?

i need a solution ASAP. any thought would be soooooo appreciated.

ps - i am 'reverse telecineeeeee-ing' the footage after digitizing, so i not only have media files for my original 29.97 footage but also new "reversed" files - could that me confusing things?
Anonymous User
Re: offline files won't reconnect!!!help!!!
August 22, 2005 02:59PM
Sounds like you are not using the Media Manager to copy over the files. Are you not?

August 22, 2005 04:12PM
i'm not using the media manager - have never used it before and don't know really how or what it does....?
Anonymous User
August 22, 2005 04:32PM
Well the manual is a good place to start. :-)

Also read this

[www.kenstone.net]

August 22, 2005 04:41PM
ok - so i read the manual and the ken stone article - it all makes sense - but, let's say i don't want to make a new project everytime i bring the editor new media. i want to be able to put the new media into her existing project where she has been working...if i use the media manager to make a new project and new media, open up the new project and then move the new media into her old project will the media stay connected?