Need advice on sports movie transitions

Posted by storytym 
Need advice on sports movie transitions
August 25, 2007 05:22PM
Hi--

I have nothing to show just now, just looking for advice...

I'm a writer/director, and am editing my first indie feature with the help of a very good veteran editor. Cutting on FCP 5.14, on a Mac Pro system with Mac OSX 10.4.1, with a Dual Core Intel Xeon processor, 2 x 2.66 Ghz.

It's a sports movie, a comedy drama, but definitely an indie. Some of our bigger game scenes have good coverage, and flow really well. But some of our shorter game scenes were shot very quickly in tough conditions. All the footage looks great, but we simply don't have a lot of coverage.

To suggest passage of time within a game is kind of tough without using dissolves, but dissolves don't convey the energy and impact that the scenes need. And a lot of other transitions look a bit cheesy.

Does anyone have advice on what are good FCP transitions for high-action sports movies? So far, the Box Slide seems to be working okay, but I'm really wondering if anyone else has used a different transition to good effect, or maybe created their own.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

--DS
Re: Need advice on sports movie transitions
August 25, 2007 06:01PM