Party dogs

Posted by Jamie Austad 
Party dogs
August 21, 2008 12:45AM
Okay, I am embarrassed to put this up because I am a complete novice and this doesn't compare with any of the work I've looked at in this list. But I am putting it up anyway because I want to get better, so please feel free to point out good and bad.

The shots are all handheld (very obviously) on a DVX100b in a hotel lobby, so the lighting was horrible and I tried to figure out which filters to apply to make it look the best it could.

I do not have license to use the music, so although I was hoping to put this on the magazine's website, it seems that could be a big bad mistake without permission.

Jamie

Re: Party dogs
August 21, 2008 01:18AM
Aside from the dissolves, which feel arbitrary and not too motivated, not much wrong with the piece, I thought. It's not meant to carry much narrative or meaning, it's about cute moments with cute dogs. Maybe a bit more stringent shot choices (ie. cutting out some of the more vague shots) would give you a tighter piece, but it does the job.

www.derekmok.com
August 21, 2008 10:03PM
Thanks for the feedback... what kind of changes would you make to the dissolves? I added a few but I left a lot of the cuts without any dissolve because of the music - the dissolves wound up being distracting to me because the tempo of the soundtrack felt too quick. Do you disagree there?
August 21, 2008 11:16PM
It's been my long-time theory that if you let the music dictate the cuts, at least 60 per cent of the time you'd be making cuts that don't fit the images as well as they could. That's the feeling I got. I don't think you did badly; there were just a few points where I saw techniques that didn't really fit the shots chosen for those techniques.

Just as a training exercise, try cutting the piece with no music. Use either silence, or sync sound. See if you can convey the moments you want, some kind of structure and build.