trouble finding right h.264 formula for particular website upload

Posted by robinrosenthal 
trouble finding right h.264 formula for particular website upload
May 27, 2010 11:07AM
Hi. I'm new to Compressor but learning fast.

I have a 3-minute teaser that I need to upload to a "crowdfunding" website called kickstarter.com. The site recommends using an h.264 codec, with acceptable file types MOV, MPEG, AVT, MP4, 3GP, WMV, FLV, video file size limit 200 MB. They also suggest starting with a bit rate of 1500 and adjusting from there.

My sequence is HDV edited natively (1080i60). FCP7, on a Xeon quad core. Moving people, moving camera...nothing is locked down, ever.

So I began my adventure with a droplet for HD going to Vimeo. Settings as follows:
Video Settings: compression type h.264, frame rate current, key frames every 30, frame reordering checked, compressor quality high, encoding best quality multipass, date rate restrict to 5000kbits, optimized for download.
Audio: AAC, stereo, 44.1 ,render quality normal, target bit rate 128 (no problems here, audio comes out great)
Frame Controls: On, resize filter better, output fields progressive, deinterlace Better, with adaptive details checked, anti-alias all the way to the left, details level all the way to the left, rate conversion fast, duration 100% of source
Geometry: Crop to Custom (all zeros), 1280x1070, pixel aspect default for size

So, the only tweaks I did were upping the date rate to 7000, and adding a gamma correction of 1.2. My sequence took less than 20 minutes to compress and looked pretty good for the purpose at hand on my end. File size 161 mb. Uploaded to youtube (minus the gamma correction, which I hadn't discovered yet), where it also looks pretty good (for youtube, especially at 720p) here's that link in case it helps you help me: