Level Discrepency DVDSP to the DVD

Posted by tom hambleton 
Level Discrepency DVDSP to the DVD
July 12, 2006 10:10PM
hi,

apple g5 QUAD, running OS 10.4.7; Compressor 2.1; DVDSP 4.1.0

i am an audio post professional and understand most of the concepts involved here. i have had DVDSP both v3 and now 4. i have created AC-3's for films and programs for about 2 years...

now, i created Stereo 2.0 AC-3 files using compressor : SR 48, 448 kbps, Complete Main. diag norm -31, ALL pre-processing junk OFF

when i audition it in DVDSP using DIGIDESIGN CORE AUDIO it plays back fine (some peaking about -6 at most). i have a set of very accurate meters.

i burn a DVD and play it in the Apple DVD Player, using DIGIDESIGN CORE AUDIO, it is almost 6dB LOUDER!!...and, in fact, on some occasions the decoding compressor kicks in and there is ducking going on.

so, i tried -27 ...same thing...LOUDER.

if i use a PCM file, the level stays the same. problems is, that eats up bandwidth.

quieter i understand. but louder? i am sure this is a de-code rather than encode problem.

anybody have a clue as to what the problem is? or where i can go to find an answer?

tom hambleton, C.A.S.
minister of fancy noises

"Entropy ain't what it used to be!"
Re: Level Discrepency DVDSP to the DVD
July 13, 2006 01:49AM
To me your workflow seems ok.
Try with a commercial feature film DvD to check your levels.
More then probaly it will go to loud as well.
I know this won't solve your problem but you'll know for sure if it's a decoder/playback problem.

Grtz,
Chris
July 13, 2006 01:56AM
In the settings for DVDPlayer, have you got the button to disable the Dolby dynamic range compression checked or unchecked?
July 13, 2006 10:53AM
Hal MacLean wrote:

> In the settings for DVDPlayer, have you got the button to
> disable the Dolby dynamic range compression checked or
> unchecked?

DING DING DING !!!!!