DVD Studio Pro and Toast 9: CSS error

Posted by Nick Baer 
DVD Studio Pro and Toast 9: CSS error
April 07, 2010 01:28PM
I have been authoring DVDs with DVD Studio Pro since 2005.

I archive the VIDEO_TS folders on HDD, then use Toast (9) to burn discs, because you can store so many 4GB VIDEO_TS folders on a 500GB portable USB drive!

Starting a few weeks ago, when I drag the VIDEO_TS folder to Toast, Toast brings up an alert box saying that the file is CSS encrypted and it cannot copy it!! The VIDEO_TS folders was built to the same HDD by DSP (current).

What?!?!? What is CSS in terms of DSP?

These are VIDEO_TS folders created over months and years, with the same DSP, continuously updated as Software Update finds updates for FCP and Pro Apps support.

This happens on my Leopard and Snow Leopard machines.

I submitted a support ticket with Roxio, but 2 weeks later they closed it, unanswered.

Independent photographer, film maker and Producer. In the wonderful UK.
Re: DVD Studio Pro and Toast 9: CSS error
April 07, 2010 08:42PM
OK, so even though I have been burning DVDs in Toast from the "Clapper" tab > VIDEO_TS folders for at least 5 years...

Someone CHANGED the process to:

If you have DVD data that is already authored in a Video_TS folder, here are the steps you should use to burn it to DVD:
1) Launch Toast and select the "Data" tab.
2) In the drawer, select "Advanced" at the top.
3) Select the "DVD-ROM (UDF)" format.
4) Click on the "New Disc" button at the bottom of the layout.
5) Use the "Add" button to select your Video_TS folder, or drag and drop the folder into your layout.
6) Now you can add additional data content or burn the disc.

Dragging the same VIDEO_TS folder this way does NOT produce the CSS copying error. After it successfully burned a new DVD, I clicked on the Clapper tab again, and sure enough, got the CSS Can't Copy error on the same VIDEO_TS folder!!