Anamorphic Help

Posted by Clay 
Anamorphic Help
November 30, 2004 03:44PM
Motion Newbie here. Got the basics down pretty well so far, but here's one situation I'm struggling with:

Working with a PAL anamorphic sequence in FCP HD, I need to export about 8 short segements (max 250 frames each) for title animation in Motion. Don't want to embed but rather export QuickTimes for client approval, tweaking and then re-import later. Questions/issues are:

1. When I export a self-contained quicktime at current settings (anamorphic), what pixel dimensions do I use in Motion (custom setup?) upon starting a new project ? Also, do I use the same pixel dimensions upon export, or do I squeeze the finished segment back into 720 x 576

2. I did a test of a 100 frame segment, and experienced very noticable color and contrast quality loss. What procedure do I have to follow to maintain the original quality ?

Thanks in advance for any help or pointing me to a tutorial.

Best,
Clay
Re: Anamorphic Help
December 01, 2004 02:56PM
Clay,

Don't do anything to change the size of the picture - export at 720 x 576.

Now, here's the big Motion bug - Motion does not recognise 16:9 tagged movies. When you make a Motion 16:9 project, you will have to stretch the x axis to 133% to "expand" the picture.

Likewise if you go the other way, your clip will not register as 16:9 back in FCP, so that means having to go into the properties to tick that box per clip.

For the best quality, work with the same codec throughout the process.

Peter

Greg Niles
December 01, 2004 05:44PM
> Now, here's the big Motion bug - Motion does not recognise
> 16:9 tagged movies. When you make a Motion 16:9 project, you
> will have to stretch the x axis to 133% to "expand" the
> picture.