Motion seems to run slow on fast system

Posted by chris cummings 
As a newbie, I'm looking forward to diving more in-depth into Motion, but at the outset, I'm surprised at how slow it seems to run...

I recently purchased a dual 2.5 G5 with 4.5GB of RAM, which I thought should easily handle this app. Just in building a few basic layers with effects, I'm often waiting for the spinning beachball for long periods at many steps along the way. I've got about 85% of the memory dedicated to Motion at the moment. I don't even have it playing through.

It's running full-screen on the 23" cinema display and the view window is fairly large - could this be part of it? Again, I thought it would be able to handle it.

It was really bogging when cycling through particle effects in the library to see the different effects, and also when I loaded a couple on different layers. Also, a full RAM preview of a fairly simple layer with a few effects on it took almost 30 minutes to render!

When I went to an Apple seminar on Motion, the demo guy from apple wasn't having any hang-ups like this on what seemed to be a comparable set-up.

Is this normal? Anything I can do to help? Reminds me of the early days of FCP when a friend I used to edit with used to judge renders by how many cigarettes he could smoke, "That's a half pack, etc." :-)

Best,
~Chris
What card are you using? The card is really the driving factor for realtime performance.
Mark
Oh yeah, thanks Mark - forgot to mention...it has the top ATI card - can't remember as I'm at work on my powerbook at the moment, but I think it was the 9800? It should be the best ATI makes (I had Mac build it to my specs).