Is motion the right tool? Formats for webstreaming. Realistic approach? (newbie questions)

Posted by michellepace 
Hi there,

I am a newbie here so please forgive the question if it is somewhat naive.

WHAT I NEED TO DO

I need to create a clip which will be viewed of the web streaming either in .mov format - and if I can find how to convert it - into flash format.

In this clip I will make use of very simple animated vector graphics (ie a couple of lines connected together changing color moving from once side of the screen to the other), text, screen recordings (.mov) and audio voice over. I need to make this quite quickly.

QUESTIONS

1. Could motion be the sole tool to make all of the above? (assuming I cut my .mov files in FCP exactly how I want them before hand)

2a. For web streaming and reading the description of what I will be making (simple animated objects, text, screen recordings), from your experience what frame rate would you suggest I use?

Should I ensure I make my screen recordings with the same rate too?

2b. Can I create my motion project a little bigger than I think I need, and later always have the option to export into something smaller? (maintaining aspect ratio for good results?)

2c. For audio, can I apply the same concept? Starting at 16 bit and then later if I want I can export to 8 bit to reduce streaming latency. Or should I start with 8 bit?

3. For my approach, I thought of using a template since my screen recordings will always be on the same place of the screen. And my vector art will always originate at the same place on the screen too... together with using Motion as the only tool to work with - does this approach sound realistic? Or perhaps even a more efficient approach? (I'm not looking to get really complicated... this is really just to get my idea visual and working on screen and somewhat pretty) smiling smiley