re: How to approach DVCam clones of DVCPro HD 720p24 masters?

Posted by derekmok 
November 09, 2005 02:48AM
Okay, the project I've been asking about for a couple of months is here. I hope the gurus will have the time and patience to point me in the right direction. My heartfelt gratitude in advance.

Footage was shot on the Panasonic Varicam. The DP says he shot on DVCPro HD 720p24. To avoid a deck rental and hardware purchases, we got a deal to transfer the footage to DVCam so I can use my DSR-11 for capturing and recapturing, with hopes to online later using the DVCPro masters.

The first set of three DVCam tape transfers arrived yesterday. After consulting with Shane Ross, I was advised to capture the DVCam tapes using the "Remove Advanced Pulldown and/or Duplicate Frames During Capture From Firewire Sources" option under Capture Presets. This option is supposed to produce 23.98 clips I can edit in a 23.98fps timeline.

This system is FCP4.5, OSX 10.3.9, QuickTime 6.5.2, Cinema Tools 2.2.

I had made new user-defined sets of Sequence and Capture Presets as follows:

Sequence Preset:
NTSC DV Frame Size 720x480
Anamorphic 16:9 OFF (transfer guy made the footage letterboxed, despite my specific instructions to the contrary, so 16:9 no more)
Pixel Aspect Ratio NTSC - CCIR 601/DV
Editing Timebase 23.98
Timecode Rate - Same as Editing Timebase
Compressor: DV/DVCPro
Audio: 48.000kHz

Capture Preset:
NTSC DV Frame Size 720x480
Anamorphic 16:9 OFF
Video - Digitizer DV Video, Input DSR-11, Compressor DV/DVCPro, 29.97fps
Remove Advanced Pulldown option ON

Here's where things get interesting.

I captured two clips as a test. The above settings produced clips that, when checked using APPLE-9, were still at 29.97fps. Putting these into the 23.98fps timeline, not surprisingly, produced a red render bar. This seems not to be the correct way to do this.

So I did two other tests: