Dropped Frames when editing Anything

Posted by nancella 
Dropped Frames when editing Anything
April 09, 2006 03:51PM
I am a beginner with FCP and have run into a situation from the getgo. I've captured video and I've imported still clips. If I edit in anyway; cut the still clip down to 5 seconds, enlarge the video image in the canvas window and try to play it back I get a message; One or more frames were dropped during playback. If this occurs frequently try:
Turning off unlimited RT
Lowering your compression data rate
Closing open sequences
Lowering the preference for real-time audio tracks
Increase the speed of your system and/or disk drives and/or network connection

I am using an iMac with the 2 GHz Intel chip, with a 500 GB hard drive and have a high speed network connection.

I don't understand all of the items listed and am also wondering if this is some little thing I need to do and don't know about. Please help....I'm trying to learn this on my own for a job I hope to take over in a year.
Re: Dropped Frames when editing Anything
April 09, 2006 04:15PM
- do you have the intel friendly (universal binary) version of FCP?
- you shouldnt capture to your boot drive (you need a secondary, in your case, external firewire drive)
- your network connection has nothing to do with your problem
April 10, 2006 10:27PM
I used to get that message a lot also - but it was mainly when I was running like 6-8 audio tracks. When I cut them down, I stopped getting that annoying reminder. Have you tried doing any of the suggested things?
April 10, 2006 11:40PM
I just had a chat with one of the Mac people here, told him your problem, and he said that only FCP5.1 will work with an Intel chip.... What version are you running? I had suddenly remembered that there is a problem with the new Macs and some of their normal applications - like FCP and DVDStudio Pro.
April 11, 2006 05:06AM

Nancella:

The two things that generally solve that problem for me are: