Outputting HDDV

Posted by Jim Furlong 
Outputting HDDV
May 10, 2006 05:11PM
First let me say I am a professional editor with 26 years experience. I have been working with FCP and DVD Studio Pro for three years. I have created DVDs from countless FCP projects.

I am working with HDDV for the first time, it is actually my son's school project, a 30 minute film. I am having all kinds of problems outputting a cut for "rough cut" approval.

Since it is a rough cut, I first wanted to output via Print to Tape to Regular NTSC DV. After a lengthy process time, FCP failed to output and gave me a message that some files were in use by another program. They were not.

I then tried to do a Quicktime Conversion to NTSC DV with the aspect set to 16:9. After a long processing time FCP suddenly quit, leaving me with nothing. Next I tried to output the sequence as a self contained quicktime movie, this one at the same resolution as the timeline which is I belive 108060i. Again, long process that ended in FCP suddenly qutting and no file.

Next I used compressor to create an AAC and MPEG2. Compressor did not quit, and seemed to finish the three hour process. However there was only the AAC file to be found, and an extensive search found no evidence of the MPEG2 file anywhere on any drive.

My next plan was to change the timeline to full quality playback and render it in sections, one minute of the film at a time. I have not previously rendered the project as it is still a rough cut and very fluid, however at this point rendering seems to be the only answer. My thought in rendering it section by section is to eliminate the 3 hours process and crash scenario. In addition, by rendering it section by section I will be able to identify if there is a bad file or section of the film that creates the crashes.