FCP to Avid help

Posted by mel 
mel
FCP to Avid help
December 10, 2007 08:33PM
hello,
I'm an FCP editor and I just got an editing gig that requires I work on Avid. I will begin by saying that I have worked on Avid in the past, but it was not a heavy effects/transitions laden gig. This new gig will require the quick MTV style cutting, flashy FX and transitions.

I am confident that I can pick up the clunky Mode settings in Avid and put together what needs to be done, but I need to hit the ground running with a little knowledge of keystrokes/shortcuts on the FX side of the Avid interface. Does anyone have a guide, or tutorial, or keyboard layout that you could send me? Or perhaps just some outright keystrokes for basic motion FX and graphics for the kind of promo/sizzle/EPK work you would see on Entertainment Tonight or on the E! Channel. I can do all of this stuff in FCP but I will be flying blind on the Avid. Any help would be appreciated.
Re: FCP to Avid help
December 10, 2007 11:43PM
Stuff like that doesn't really exist for Avid. Not that I have found. It is stuff passed from editor to editor, job to job. This is why FCP and the community it spawned is so great. SHARING. Avid users...and I am guilty of this too...are elitists and snobs and don't make tutorials on how to do things.

Just gotta explore and try things out. I know a FEW effects...I relied on the PAINT EFFECT for a lot, but it has multiple things it can do. Just play...stay longer and figure them out. Or ask another editor if they will show you (good luck...remember...SNOBS!)...no...they might show you. The FX interface is different for each plugin, but the way you get into it is always the same. Also remember you can have multiple FX layers if you OPTION DRAG them onto clips, and you can STEP (or HAVE TO STEP) thru each effect. And you can add effects to the empty layer above.

Too much to really get into.

www.shanerosseditor.com

Listen to THE EDIT BAY Podcast on iTunes
[itunes.apple.com]