Need a portable ext HD for Macbook Pro

Posted by JJH 
JJH
Need a portable ext HD for Macbook Pro
January 13, 2008 10:47AM
Im learning FCP on my laptop and want to store footage on ext HD. While I am an editor, I'm not a gear head (thanks for keeping the computer speak simple). I plan on using the laptop for personal projects like DV shot family videos, but the goal is to get up to speed on FCP for job opportunities. I went with the laptop so I could learn on my down time at my news job.

Thank you for suggestions.

JJH
Re: Need a portable ext HD for Macbook Pro
January 13, 2008 11:43AM
So you want to keep it pretty teeny tiny and not hook up a big fat FireWire Raid to lug around. Then pretty much any external Firewire Drive from pretty much any manufacturer will do ya fine. Course here you will her bad things about some of them.

A good compromise is the G-Raid Mini

[www.g-technology.com]

Its tiny and also a Raid.

Michael Horton
-------------------
January 13, 2008 05:28PM
I use a two drive external SATA enclosure and Express-34 SATA controller card from FirmTek.

Much more reliable than Firewire and can be used as RAID 0 or JBOD when connected.

[www.firmtek.com]
January 14, 2008 07:06AM
I've had good luck with a portable, bus-powered drive from

[eshop.macsales.com] aka Other World Computing.

Click on "Mercury On-the Go." They offer a wide selection of USB, FW400, FW800 and eSATA combos with a choice of drive capacities. Drives include a full set of cables too. The FW800 cables are snug into my MacBook Pro. An AC adapter is also included. They ship from Chicago area and I get one-day standard UPS delivery to Indianapolis.

Phil Cramer
Indianapolis
January 14, 2008 12:03PM
Let me second that recommendation for OWC. I've used several of their drives and they're really solid. I'm currently using a bus-powered, FW800 drive that runs at 7200rpm -- fast enough to cut DV. If you ever plan on editing on a plane (it happens) the bus-powered drives are worth it!

JK