Took the plunge

Posted by ErikR 
Took the plunge
January 30, 2008 05:41PM
Well, I did it. I took the Weynand course this past weekend for FCP newbies. I've been working with Avid for nearly 12 years now, and when I've attempted FCP in the past it gave me a headache.

FCP is definitely impressive and I'm sure with some practice I'll be fine on it. But there's still some minor things that bug me. Final cut as Roll, Ripple, Slip, Slide to Avid's Trim. As I said, with practice I'm sure it won't be a big deal, and there is a Trim window in FCP. I also don't like I can't color my timeline tracks, or colorize my clips. Yeah, I can change the highlight color of clip text, but it's not the same as colorizing the clip. I usually colorize all my clips so when I'm looking at a timeline I can quickly see where all my interviews, broll, locations, etc are.

FCP is also sleeker looking, but most Apple products look much nicer than their counterparts. Avid still looks basically the same after all these years. Sure, you can make your buttons into ovals or squares with a little shadow on them, but it's still kinda flat.

Not sure there's a point to this topic, but I wrote on here several weeks ago when I was considering taking the plunge, and the folks on the site were very helpful. So when I finally get to monkeying around with FCP on my home system, I'm sure I'll drop by to look up or ask questions.

Thanks,
Erik
Re: Took the plunge
January 30, 2008 06:06PM
Welcome to the family Erik

Rui Barros
Editor Colorist Trainer
Lisbon, Portugal
RTP Post-Production
Apple Certified Trainer FCP 7
Apple Certified Pro FCP 7
January 30, 2008 06:43PM
Hey Erik,