Ideal specs for making a pencil animation for projection?

Posted by PDC 
PDC
Ideal specs for making a pencil animation for projection?
March 13, 2009 06:30PM
Hi everyone-

I'm a DIY beginner, and I'm hoping to find some sound advice.

My project: making a hand-drawn animation using pencil only, to ultimately be projected onto a large screen. I don't yet know the size of the projection--perhaps about 10 feet x 10 feet?
I also don't yet know the native resolution of the projector. I do know that it will be in PAL.

My questions: (I have many, sorry.)

-What is the best scanning resolution for drawings that have some shading, fine lines and gray areas? The drawings are about 8x11".
-What is the best file format, size, etc. to export to FCP?
-What is the best file type to make the final video in?
-For better image quality, is it better to burn to DVD or to run the piece off of my external hard drive or laptop, firewired into the projector? Does compression for burning to DVD always make for poorer image quality?

This is what I'm considering doing:

Scanning at 300 dpi, grayscale, 256 grays, 8 bit, uncompressed.
Save as TIFF.
In Photoshop, size them at 1440 w x 1152 h.
Also save the pixel aspect ratio at D1/DV PAL 1.006
Save as TIFF
Import into FCP

...at this point, I don't know how to save/compress the animation in a way that allows it to have high image quality. I don't have Sorenson or anything fancy, just Quicktime. I may put a filter on it, but won't have tons of effects and renderings. Also, it will be in PAL, but I'm wondering about widescreen and the other "shaping" options for projection.
I was also reading somewhere about the aesthetic beauty and render/process time reduction of doing animations at 24 frames per sec, as was I guess the old fashioned way. Does anybody have any thoughts on this? Would it work anyway for PAL?