Optimal size to prep still images for use in FCP

Posted by Paula Lerner 
Optimal size to prep still images for use in FCP
June 28, 2009 08:02PM
I am a still photographer and have been producing multimedia features (stills combined with audio, no video yet) for a couple of years now. Until recently I used SoundSlides to build my pieces, but have now finally migrated to FCP. I just went through a rough week troubleshooting various computer and FCP problems. At the end several long discussions with folks at Apple Care, the last guy I spoke with was telling me of the importance of sizing and prepping the stills correctly. He asked me how I was sizing the stills, and I told him I was following the recommends of some colleagues in an FCP manual they had put together. He said that was not a good idea.

Instead he directed me to thoroughly read the info in the FCP manual on Still Images, starting on page 365 of Volume III of the manual. He said that some of my problems in the past week could have been due to incorrect prep and sizing of the still images, and making them too big (i.e., using large files from high res still cameras) could cause FCP to jam up. According to the frame size chart on page 373, since I am using format 1080i or 1080p HD, the video sequence frame size is 1920 x 1080, and the graphics frame size should be 1920 x 1080.

One colleague I know preps her stills at 2000 pixels wide. Another one now goes with 2880 pixels wide to enable enlarging frames for motion effects without losing image quality. The one who does the latter also points out that 2880 pixels is twice the width of the high def TV standard, permitting images to be viewed on an HD monitor without losing fidelity.