New Final Cut Pro user Q's

Posted by Skinnyneo 
New Final Cut Pro user Q's
April 13, 2010 11:15AM
Hi everybody I am a new Final Cut Pro user and had a question that confused me to no end on a project.

I am an English teacher in Japan and for my new students I made an introductory video in Final Cut. I was doing really basic stuff, like rotating video, speeding up, slowing down, and basic built in transitions.

However for all the clips where I was doing anything like this it wouldn't render correctly. On the time line above all of these clips was a bluish gray line and when I hovered my mouse over it it would tell me (this is the Japanese translation) that "RT Extreme didn't support this operation" or something to that effect. I found it weird that in Final cut they video played just fine with all the clips speeding up, slowing down, and being rotated, but the exported QuickTime movie clips was all garbled, stuttering, or just plain messed up at the parts where I was using effects.

For some back ground all the clips were taken from my Canon digital camera, and when I made no changes (ie didn't add effects or speed up slow down etc) they could be edited and exported just fine.

I really want to learn more about FCP and really use it to teach in the class room or in my next job. Thank you so much for any information!
Re: New Final Cut Pro user Q's
April 13, 2010 11:30AM
I don't know about Japaneses translation, but did you try trashing your preferances?
(See FAQ)

How are you exporting? Using Quicktime Conversion? Also what are your FCP specs and computer specs?
April 13, 2010 11:31AM
Please give the exact item properties of the clips you're editing and the exact item properties of the sequence you're editing in.

All the best,

Tom
April 13, 2010 11:33AM
A few questions to help solve your problem